Our History & The Current Commitee

Home/Our History & The Current Commitee
Blaston & District Agricultural Society was founded in 1957 by a group of local people with a keen interest in agriculture and the rural community.  The original founders were Bill and Molly Jackson, Dick and Clare Clarke and Joyce Noble.

The first ever Blaston Show was held in the same year and has been an annual event ever since, only having to be cancelled twice in its history; in both instances due to Foot and Mouth disease.  The Show originally started as a small gymkhana competition and later incorporated donkeys.  As the show grew and became more popular, show classes of horses and ponies, sheep, goats, cattle and dogs developed.

The Show has always been held in the vicinity of Blaston village and has been run from just six sites in its 60 year lifespan.  It has been held at the current site on Hallaton Road, Slawston since 1997.

The management team have ambitious plans to build on the Show’s successes and its unique positioning in the summer show calendar.
The Society was incorporated as a limited company in 2009 as Blaston and District Agricultural Show Society Ltd.

The Society was formally registered as a Charity in 2010.

Registered Company: 06796428 | Charity No: 1135686 | Registered Office: 10 Station Street, Kibworth Beauchamp, Leicester LE8 0LN


Society Committee

President :
Mr Richard Telfer

Oliver Lee

Directors & Trustees:
Janet Meek
Oliver Lee
James Mount
Alistair Chapman
William Young
Duncan Maxwell

Society & Show Secretary:
Mrs Janette Stocks

Nick Bairstow

Honorary Membership Secretary:
Mrs Lucy Lee-Tirrell

Honorary Auditors:
Ireland & Co
10 Station Street
Kibworth Beauchamp

Heads of Show Sections

Show Director: William Young
e: showdirector@blastonshow.co.uk

Head of Main Ring: Brett Marshall
e: brett.marshall@cityam.com

Media & Marketing: Hilary Manners Marketing
e: marketing@blastonshow.co.uk

Sponsorship & Advertising: Chris Weston
e: sponsorship@blastonshow.co.uk

Membership Secretary: Lucy Lee-Tirrell
e: membership@blastonshow.co.uk

Trade Stands: Trisha Clarke
e: tradestands@blastonshow.co.uk

Horse & Pony: Lesley Sluman
e: horseandpony@blastonshow.co.uk

Sheep: John Dixon
e: sheep@blastonshow.co.uk

Sheep Shearing: Gill Burbidge
e: sheepshearing@blastonshow.co.uk

Cattle: Mrs Jo Miller
e: cattle@blastonshow.co.uk

Dogs: Mr Chrys Thorpe
e: dogs@blastonshow.co.uk

Modern Farming & Livestock Area: Michael Squires
e: mikesquires20170@aol.com

Classic & Vintage Car Run: Trevor Stocks
e: classiccars@blastonshow.co.uk

Vintage Tractors: Malcolm Palmer
e: vintagetractors@blastonshow.co.uk

Gates: Ann Palmer
e: anniepalmer1@hotmail.co.uk

Society & Show Secretary: Mrs Janette Stocks
e: secretary@blastonshow.co.uk
2 Digby Close, Tilton on the Hill, Leics LE7 9LL